Revisiting Twitter & How to effectively use it for a satellite operation

In November 2014, I did a posting about using Twitter to advertise grid operations.  I suggest reading it before continuing with this post.

Now that a couple of years have passed, I’m glad to see more and more operators are moving towards using the platform.  I am a fan of it because it can be completely open and transparent.  Being cross-platform with many user options makes it a very flexible tool.  I’ve decided to post a few observations here as a follow-up to my original posting.

On privatizing your feeds…(protecting Tweets)
A few operators insist on making their Twitter feeds private. I’m not sure it really has any benefit other than perhaps reducing a small amount of “junk followers.”  I can understand their intentions are good but if your feed is private, it makes a lot of public-facing conversations seem awkward. If you have any “secret” information to offer, you really shouldn’t be putting it on Twitter (social media.)

Long conversations
One thing that can be annoying is long Twitter threads with 5 people trying to have a group conversation.  Sometimes these long threads become hard to follow.  Picture yourself an “outsider” to what is being discussed and see if it makes sense.  Probably won’t.  I’m guilty of this but try to stay out of long-winded replies.  Take it to a group “Direct Message” or private email if it gets to be a long discussion.  Just think about it before you “chime in.”  There are, of course, always fun exceptions (this one turned into an epic thread.)

Other options, revisited…
I’m a big fan of advertising operations via the AMSAT-NA “AMSAT-BB” mailing list.  Between posting an email to the AMSAT-BB and Twitter, you can get a lot customers for any satellite operation, rare DX/grid or not.  AMSAT-NA’s Facebook is a good place to post but it has a smaller audience compared to the openness of Twitter and the AMSAT-BB mailing list.  There are other mailing lists but they are private, individually-controlled lists (empires) that do not cater to the broader amateur radio audience.

Clayton’s pet peeve…politicin’ 2016
Many of us have multiple interests. I get that.   This is a very heated presidential election cycle.  I’m not a huge fan of cross-pollinating ham radio feeds with political views.  I’m certainly willing to discuss my views with any open-minded individuals who will engage in a two-way conversation…just not on Twitter.  However, what I find very annoying are people who re-tweet political garbage to their ham Twitter feeds.  Normally, I mute those feeds and disable re-Tweets from them.  In some cases, I just un-follow them completely and block them.

3 thoughts on “Revisiting Twitter & How to effectively use it for a satellite operation

  1. I have a private twitter feed that I use primarily.

    I do have an open twitter, that I use when I need the open nature of twitter.

    What I'm trying to get at here, is if you need a twitter with openness, create and use it _as such_. And use a private feed when you like as you like.

    Like

  2. Yes, I agree with that approach. My comment is focused on ham radio Twitter accounts. If you want to share in the community, why make it private? Private accounts might be more suited for something else like family or friend Twitter accounts.

    Like

  3. Agreed, create a ham radio account (with your call as you handle even) and do your satellite/dx/hf/csi things there.

    Then you can even keep political comments from people that want to know just what you're doing in ham radio (and don't care to know why Trump is better then Hilary who are less then … cabbage).

    Managing multiple twitter accounts from a mobile\cell is super easy to, there's really no reason not to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

